Memories of stromatolites

img_5727

Some twenty plus years ago, I attended my very first lecture at Uppsala University. It was a strange mix of anxiety and anticipation that flooded through me as I went up the stairs to the theatre on the top of the Zoology building. Although I was certain that I wanted to study biology, I had no clue as to what university studies really were. It turned out they were a bit scary, at first.

As the lecture room had filled up and the lights dimmed, a guest professor spent the next hour speeding through a fact specked presentation in accented English and with PowerPoint slides in Spanish. I think he was pretty famous in his field, but it was somewhat wasted on us as most had never listened to a lecture in English before, let alone had any prior knowledge on the beauty of fossilized bacterial stromatolites. But as the days went pass, turned into weeks and later months and years, my interest in biology grew steady from that point, fueled by a series of great lecturers and by friends that shared my passion.

Yesterday I was back at my Alma Mater for a thesis defense, climbed the same set of stairs and entered the room that once was so intimidating. Funny, though, it was much smaller than I remembered it to be; just an ordinary medium sized lecture room. And not a single stromatolite to be seen.

Leave a Reply

