You may call me professor, if you like

This post is bit of navel-gazing. But hey, it is not every week you become professor! [Photo of the book cover of Pretty Man comes from Flickr user ADiamondFellFromTheSky, used under a CC BY-NC 2.0 license].

This post is bit of navel-gazing. But hey, it is not every week you become professor! [Photo of the book cover of Pretty Man comes from Flickr under a CC BY-NC 2.0 license].

By Jonas Waldenström

Yes, this happened. Since this Monday I am officially a professor – not an assistant professor, or an associate professor, but a full professor. That’s kind of cool.

This also means I have a permanent contract. That’s cool too.

And they pay me better! Total win!

It is yet a bit early to say what this transition means in the long-term. But at least it means that I don’t need to scout around for positions elsewhere, and a closure of 10 years on shorter contracts post-PhD.

I have always loved science and academia, and managed to hang around in this rather harsh and competitive environment. This is partly skill, partly luck, and a huge thanks to a brilliant mentor – my former prof Björn Olsen – who took me on and gave me freedom to do stuff, go places. And as PI, I have been fortunate to have had great students and staff, emanating in good research.

At some timepoint I may write about the choices that brought me here, but I don’t have patience today. This professor needs to read manuscripts, and apply for MOAR money. Because that’s what professors do.

So cheers everyone, old friends and new friends! I hope some good science this way comes.

*******************************************************************************************************************

If you enjoyed this post, or other posts on this blog, why not follow it via email, Feedly, or get updates via Twitter by following @DrSnygg?

3 thoughts on “You may call me professor, if you like

  1. Congrats Jonas. Fantastic news. With your stamina, genuine interest and after surviving so long in the fantastic “lost in translation zone” between ecology and infections you are soooo worth it. .

Leave a Reply

